The Passion

The Passion, the ultimate story of redemption. I was watching a modern rendition of the Passion of Jesus the other night on television, totally caught up in the gut wrenching emotion of Yeshua’s last days on earth. I loved every minute, truly. Few things are done as creatively and well as that production.

In the past couple of months I have been studying the historical Jesus vs the Biblical Jesus. They are not one and the same; the two barely resemble one another. Historical Jesus is likely closer to the reality than what we read in the Bible, but I don’t totally discount the Biblical Jesus either. Somewhere in the middle is the person, the man known as Jesus.

So why the discrepancy? The “church” is largely responsible for creating the “Jesus” we are most familiar with for a variety of reasons, not the least of which was to put the “church” and its leaders firmly in control of this new religion. Agree or disagree with me, the evidence can be easily found in the volumes of historical writings on the life of this most amazing man. His life split time as we know it. Who else can we say that about?

Back to The Passion. Watching the modern day account of the age old story of redemption, I was caught up in the emotion of the masterful retelling of the days leading up to the crucifixion and resurrection. Tears welled up in my eyes thinking of the price paid for my sins, for the sins of all of mankind. For God so loved the world……… He did then and He does now. And yet there is little historical fact in the beloved Easter story. So why is it so captivating, so meaningful?

I can only speak for myself, but The Passion, the Easter story, is a story of hope, a love story from God to His creation. I can examine my heart, my motivations, actions and life in relation to God’s mercy. Easter’s promise of redemption assures me that my life will have counted for something and that I played a part in the bigger picture. It’s hope of renewal affords me the opportunity to get it right today and in the future despite my flaws and past failures. I am humbled by the sacrifice to forgive my sins so that I can in turn forgive others when they have wronged me.

In the end it really doesn’t matter to me that the Biblical Jesus bears little resemblance to the historical Jesus; that the Easter story contains little historical fact. The peace that passes all understanding whispers to me from the cross that I am not alone for He is with me always…….even to the end of time.

Leave a Reply

