The Road Less Traveled…..

Metaphorically speaking, have you ever found yourself standing at a fork in the road? Which way to go? Looking down each road, one familiar, one less so; faith will have to lead the way.

I am a truth-seeker. How much of what I believe have I just accepted because someone told me? As I stand here looking down one path, then the other, I hear voices from the past; voices that have shaped how I view God, the church, the Bible, and life, in general. What resonates within my spirit is not the teachings of the past, the lessons from various pulpits, or even people I hold in high regard. I don’t necessarily believe they are wrong, just that the interpretations they embrace, I cannot, or at least not fully, not any longer. There was a time when I believed that Christianity as it is preached across this country was the only way to heaven, the only way to journey with God. Today, I see organized religion as tainted, very often invoking fear to maintain the census, or worse, promising wealth, prosperity and an easy life from here on out if only we would come on bended knee, wallet open, and repeat the incantations, otherwise known as prayers of salvation, or any version thereof. At best, church is a gathering of people going through the motions of rote religious form hoping to fulfill an undefined quota of attendance and good works resulting in a seat in heaven. As I reflect on the words I have written I can see where some would think them a harsh judgment of the church, and that is not my intention. For a moment, set aside defense of the church, its practices and doctrine. Church and God are not synonymous.

One can have a deep and intimate relationship with God apart from church membership. We belong to churches because we seek to belong to a group of like-minded people; the reason for any group existence. If one feels connected, accepted, affirmed or nourished in the church setting, by all means, be present, be there. Certainly there are those who attend truly seeking relationship, living out the spirit of Yeshua’s ministry to a lost and hurting world; the genuine believers whose lives are centered on Yeshua whether inside or outside the walls of the church. Can one find God in church? I believe so, but in the end, God’s presence is everywhere; attendance in church is neither mandatory, nor guarantees a spot in heaven; therein lies a misconception.

Recently, I had a very spirited discussion with a childhood friend of my kids. I liked the young man as a kid, and now that he is grown he has adopted some ideologies I cannot embrace, nevertheless I still hold the kid close to my heart. One of the comments he made was that the church was “largely responsible” for my children turning out to be “great human beings”. I disagreed loudly and clearly, and my children chimed in, as well. Church provided them a place to meet friends, go on trips, and generally hang out in a safe environment. Do I believe it is responsible for their strength, resilience, compassion and humanitarianism? Not in the least. As one of my daughter’s pointed out to him, the church we belonged to knew the condition of our house, the abuse within its walls, and chose to turn a blind eye. Further, when I did reach out the pastor commented, “we have a lot of controlling men in the church”. That statement is concerning on a couple of levels and a mindset that must change.

In essence, often church leadership is condoning abuse in the name of Jesus, and willingly turning away from those most in need. Abuse of others occurs in churches across our country and likely around the world, when we exclude people from church life because of status, or lack thereof, lifestyle choices, and addictions, to name a few. Listen carefully to many of the sermons preached on any given Sunday; sermons dripping with the do’s and don’ts and why-I-don’t-measure-ups, and the need to scrub and scour the vessel until acceptable to God. Man puts conditions on God’s acceptance of the wounded, the sick, the needy, deciding who is worthy of God’s interventions. Matthew 11:28 calls those who are in need of relationship, “Come to me, all of you who are struggling and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Complete Jewish Bible) Notice the verse says “all”; it is all inclusive, it doesn’t leave anyone out. We all struggle, we are burdened, and we are all in need of rest.

The church has carefully crafted the image of God and Yeshua (Jesus). From historical accounts of Yeshua, we know that He was not well received by the religious leaders of the day, shunned by the elite, linked to prostitutes and criminals, accused of being a drunkard, His methods called into question as from the devil. In other words, Yeshua wasn’t the popular kid in town. He challenged conventional thinking and the religious leaders, and worked outside the box. Many tend to picture Yeshua gliding through the streets of ancient Israel, a Pied Piper, of sorts, children and lambs trailing after Him. Yeshua came to restore relationship with God and in so doing upset the norm. Those who embraced Him, sought Him out, listened, followed, and ultimately took His message forward after His death and resurrection were not the synagogue pew-sitters of the day. Yeshua’s life and message resonated with the lost, the lame, the infirm, the drunkard, the prostitute, the tax collector, those who did not have place or voice in mainstream society. Why? Their hearts and minds were open, they sought truth, healing whether it be physical, emotional or spiritual, they wanted relationship, truth.

So, here I stand at the fork in the road. One road is familiar, comforting only in that I recognize the path and its foliage. The other not as familiar. I perceive the path as partly shrouded in shadows, clarity not as obvious, however, the clarity of the other is based on familiarity more than truth, and my goal is truth. In the words of Robert Frost, he took the road less traveled and it made all the difference…..

Leave a Reply

